A New Law

Although I am not a fan of the Emergent Movement, this song by Derek Webb makes some great points about Christian liberty.  Are we practicing Biblical Christianity, or have we added “A New Law” to make life more manageable?

A New Law

by Derek Webb
Don’t teach me about politics and government
Just tell me who to vote for
Don’t teach me about truth and beauty
Just label my music
Don’t teach me how to live like a free man
Just give me a new law

I don’t wanna know if the answers aren’t easy
So just bring it down from the mountain to me

I want a new law
I want a new law
Gimme that new law

Don’t teach me about moderation and liberty
I prefer a shot of grape juice
Don’t teach me about loving my enemies
Don’t teach me how to listen to the Spirit
Just give me a new law

What’s the use in trading a law you can never keep
For one you can that cannot get you anything
Do not be afraid
Do not be afraid
Do not be afraid

3 Responses

  1. Wow! Man, where did you find this?

    As I read this, I was reminded of Steve Taylor. Sometimes working out our salvation in the community of saints is much more difficult than we’d like. May God grace us with the ability to succeed in being conformed to the image of Christ and submitted to the will of the Father by the power of the Spirit. And may God bless us with full-bodied life in Christ.

  2. I first heard this song in church several months ago. Parts of it I really liked, and parts of it were offensive.

    As God would orchastrate things, the particular sermon series at the time was titled, “Your Gospel is Too Small.”

    Derek rightly attacks how we have dumbed down the Gospel, by adding another law, an imperfect human law. Gods law is complete, and perfect, and yet that has not been enough for us since Eve said that she could not even touch the fruit on the tree, something God never mentioned. He only left it as not eating. Funny how legalism dumbd sown parts of the law, magnifies others, and gives us “a law you can never keep
    For one you can that cannot get you anything”

  3. […] just found this post on The Next Reformation, a blog that one of my friends maintains. He’s a wonderful Christian man, well committed to […]

Leave a Reply

