The Bishop of Durham, NT Wright, in Nashville Tonight

N. T. WrightNT Wright, the current Bishop of Durham, will be at West End United Methodist Church at 7:30, tonight, discussing his book, Surprised by Hope: Rethinking Heaven, the Resurrection, and the Mission of the Church.  I am told that Bishop Wright is the foremost, living, authority on the Resurrection and its implications.  I am looking forward to this event, particularly because my wife will be joining me, as we have a baby sitter tonight, and because I do enjoy her perspectives on theological issues.

This is the same NT Wright who wrote the New Perspectives on Paul some years ago, that has caused much controversy in Presbyterian and Reformed churches.  My own denomination, the PCA, at the General Assembly last year, voted in the affirmative to accept a study committee’s report stating that the Federal Vision and  the New Perspectives on Paul were inconsistent with what we believed that Scripture teaches, a position I agree with, given my current understanding of the debate.  That being said, I do not think this will come up tonight.

If you are in the Nashville area, and want to go, post a comment, we would like to sit with you.  For those who can’t go, I will take notes, and post some thoughts later tonight, or tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

