I Was Tagged

My sister-in-law tagged me to post 7 things about myself. So, here goes:

  1. I like my politicians conservative, and my theologians Reformed.  I don’t really need to add to this, read other posts on this blog, or follow the links.
  2. I wonder if we should be asking for our stuff to be redeemed rather than answered for.  This is actually a new train of thought I have been following.  We suffer, and we ask why.  Perhaps we should long for that suffering to be redeemed rather than for God to give us a reason why.
  3. I clean houses for a living.  Yes, toilet scrubbing.  No it is not glamorous, yes it puts food on the table, which I like.  And you would know how much I liked it if you saw my weight.  Which I should lower.
  4. I prefer to carry an actual Bible to church, but my Windows Mobile device, with E-Sword is much more convenient with 3 kids in tow.  If you see me at church scrolling through my phone, no I am not texting, e-mailing or surfing.  I am actually reading Scripture, and making notes for future reference.  I did, in fact, use to own a Dell Axim like the one pictured on the E-Sword mobile site.  E-Sword is also excellent for PC Bible software, and except for a few translations, is completely free.
  5. I spend a lot of time thinking about theology and politics.  Hey, I scrub toilets for a living and that is not really enough to keep my mind occupied.
  6. I love Sci Fi.  Dune, Star Trek, Andromeda, Battlestar Galactica, Dr. Who (which is surprising as I find British entertainment, well, not entertaining at all) ect. ect. ect.
  7. I hate repeating myself, and asking others to repeat themselves.  I do repeat myself (I have 3 boys under the age of 9) but it drives me up the wall.  I do occasionially ask someone to repeat themselves, but try to keep that to a minimum.
  8. OK a bonus: I have 16 books on my nightstand.  I have started 10 of them, and will usually read 3 or 4 at a time.  The list is :

The St Andrews Seven (reading)
Stuart Piggin and John Roxborogh

The Creeds of Christendom Volume 1: The History of Creeds
Phillip Schaff

The Creeds of Christendom Volume 2: The Greek and Latin Creeds
Phillip Schaff

The Creeds of Christendom Volume 3: The Evangelical and Protestant Creeds
Phillip Schaff

Office Accounting Pro 2007 (reading)
Frye Pearson

Surprised by Hope (reading)
NT Wright

The Letters of Thomas Chalmers (reading)
Thomas Chalmers

The Last Days According to Jesus (reading)
RC Sproul

The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe (reading)
CS Lewis

So Help Me God
Ray Moore

Confessions (reading)
St Augustine

One Soldiers Story
Bob Dole

Taking Heat (reading)
Ari Fleischer

Godless: The Church of Liberalism (reading)
Ann Coulter

Ronald Reagan in Private (reading)
Jim Kuhn

 

I am not going to tag anyone.  If you read this and want to do your own list, leave me a comment or link to this post.

2 Responses

  1. Hmm… scrubbing toilets puts food on the table…. something about that doesn’t sound quite right. I can’t quite put my finger on what about it doesn’t sound right, but I am not sure I want to put my finger on it. 🙂

    Seriously, running your own business, is quite an accomplishment regardless of the services or products you produce.

  2. Have you heard or read anything by Michael Rood ? He is a Rabbi, a former US Marine, an archeologist and I don’t know much more about him. Thanks.
    JMW

Leave a Reply

