Vista and 7 More Secure than OSX? Someone Thinks So.

Who is Charlie Miller?  Charlie Miller is a hacker.  He is a good one too.  In the summer of 2007, he released an exploit for the iPhone.  In 2008, in under 2 minutes, he found a flaw in the MacBook Air, and walked away with 10k to boot.  Oh, he also use to work fir the NSA.  He is listed as one of The Internet’s Top 10 Most Controversial Figures of 2008.

While I get a laugh out of someone poking Apple, especially if the poking involves exploiting how vulnerable Mac’s really are.  An article I saw this morning made me rather giddy.  Two quotes below:

It is of the opinion of Charlie Miller, a well known Mac security guru, that even Snow Leopard, the latest version of Mac OS X, isn’t as safe as Windows.

"Snow Leopard’s more secure than Leopard, but it’s not as secure as Vista or Windows 7," he said. "When Apple has both [in place], that’s when I’ll stop complaining about Apple’s security."

I have used Vista for a couple of years and love it.  It has been the best OS I have ever used.  The only complaint I had was that Vista was a bit resource hungry.  That being said, I did run Vista Ultimate with 512gb RAM, and had no problems.  I finally doubled the RAM after about 6 months, but only because I wanted to.  I really didn’t need to.

But I digress.  When a hacker, and a good one at that, says that Windows is more secure than the latest 2 versions of OSX, it is a good day.

4 Responses

  1. Yeah, it is a pretty special (read unusual) day when someone claims pc’s are better than mac on anything but price point.

    Since he claims to be a Mac security “expert”, it is quite likely that he has personal business reasons for trying to make Macs look as vulnerable as possible.

  2. Of course. If he has personal business interests in the position he takes, he really couldn’t believe what he is saying. No one is really honest when they have money at stake.

  3. Hey Paul,
    Maybe he was just trying to use the “regular” functions…like MS Excel. Mine locks me out regularly. 🙂

    Actually, if he’s right, congratulations are in order. It’s a tall accomplishment for Microsoft to have plugged their security holes to be on the same level as Unix, Linux, or MacOSX.

  4. Did some research on it. Apparently macs come with built in security features that are turned off by default so as not to interfere with user experience. http://netsecurity.about.com/od/secureyourmaccomputer/a/5-Security-Tips-To-Make-Your-Macbook-A-Mobile-Fort-Knox.htm
    I’m on a system (Ubuntu Linux) that comes with more built in security than one can shake a stick at with hundreds more free programs ready to be installed. I could make any hacker work three times as hard on my computer as your windows vista machine…but why? I’ve got the essentials in place, and no sensitive information on the machine, so I’m about the last person I would hack if I were a hacker. Mac users have historically not been good targets for hackers either. Thus the fact that mac users are hacked at a much lower percentage than pc users. Not to mention, macs are built better against viruses and other automated hacking. Once a virus gets through the door of a pc, nothing stops it, but for mac and Linux, they have to have known what operating system version you were on or else the virus just sits there. The only reason I have a virus scanner on my system is so that I don’t accidentally share a virus. There are no viruses in the wild that I can contract in Ubuntu. They don’t make them because there wouldn’t be a point.
    You’d think it would be safer to be in a tank than a foxhole, but the tank makes a better target.

Leave a Reply

